Student Members

 

 


 

Graduate Students

The Neglected Global Diseases Initiative welcomes student members from any discipline.



Who we are

Members
Research Associates and Postdoctoral Fellows
Student Members
Affiliate Members
Become a Member


Raquel Baldwinson

English
Faculty of Arts
Email: rbaldwinson@gmail.com

Marianne Black

Biomedical Engineering
Faculty of Applied Science
Email: mblack@alumni.ubc.ca

Jennifer Choi, Ph.D.

Faculty of Law
Member of the NGDI-UBC Working Group
Email: jenniferkchoi@gmail.com

Richmond Elllison

School of Population and Public Health
Faculty of Medicine
Email: ellisonr@gmail.com


Kimberly Girling

Neuroscience | Faculty of Medicine
Brain Research Centre
Email: kimberlygirling@gmail.com

Jasmine Hamilton

Pathology & Laboratory Medicine
Department of Medicine
Email: jasmine@mail.ubc.ca

Kasra Hassani

School of Population and Public Health
Faculty of Medicine
Email: hassani.kasra@gmail.com

Priscilla Karnabi

School of Population and Public Health
Faculty of Medicine
Email: p.karnabi@alumni.ubc.ca

My project examines group B streptococcal (GBS) infections. Infection with this pathogen can lead to stillbirths, miscarriages, meningitis, sepsis and neonatal death. It is the leading cause of neonatal morbidity and mortality in North America; preventative measures have been taken to reduce its incidence. However, the burden of disease is likely underestimated in developing countries due to a lack of access to health care, surveillance and suitable laboratory equipment. A GBS vaccine would prevent >85% of global disease. The goal of my research is assess whether a novel GBS vaccine could be an alternative to current preventative measures.


Pardis Lakzadeh

Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Email: pardisl@gmail.com

Alexandre Liautaud

School of Population and Public Health
Faculty of Medicine
Email: alexliau@mail.ubc.ca

Lillian Lourenco

School of Population and Public Health
Faculty of Medicine
Email: lillian.lourenco@gmail.com

Lyndsay O'Hara

School of Population and Public Health
Faculty of Medicine
Email: lyndsay.ohara@ubc.ca


Rene Pedroza

Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Email: rpedroza@mail.ubc.ca

Melissa Richard-Greenblatt

Infectious Diseases
Department of Medicine
UBC Centre for Tuberculosis Research
Email: mrichard009@gmail.com

Maryvonne Rosamont-Ursulet

Department of Microbiology and Immunology
Faculty of Science
Email: ursuletm@mail.ubc.ca

Mia van der Kop

Department of Infectious Diseases
Faculty of Medicine
Email: miavanderkop@gmail.com


Kathleen Wee

Department of Pediatrics
Faculty of Medicine
Email: sage1986@mail.ubc.ca


Undergraduate Students

Sarah Louadi

Faculty of Science
Email: slouadi@yahoo.com

Danay Maestre-Batlle

Centre for Microbial Diseases and Immunity Research (CMDR)
Email: danay.maestre@gmail.com

David Kim

Faculty of Science
Email: dkim741@gmail.com

Nancy Lu Lay

Biology
Faculty of Science
Email: nancylulay@alumni.ubc.ca


Shivani Mysuria

Microbiology and Immunology
Faculty of Science
Email: shivani.mysuria@gmail.com

Carly Morrison

Department of Nursing
Faculty of Applied Science
Email: camorri@ucalgary.ca

Melanie Soreren

Department of Microbiology and Immunology
Faculty of Science
Email: melvansoeren@gmail.com

Anthony Wakweika

Human Geography
Faculty of Arts
Email: anthonywaks@gmail.com


Fiona Watson

Political Science
Faculty of Arts
Email: uni_fiona@yahoo.com