Members 

Principal Investigators

The Neglected Global Diseases Initiative welcomes faculty members from any discipline. We welcome affiliated members from other universities or organizations.


The listing below is alphabetical. To view the full researcher profile with research interests and publications relevant to NGDI, click on the name.
You can also view Principal Investigators by Faculty and Department here.



Who we are

Members
Research Associates and Postdoctoral Fellows
Student Members
Affiliate Members
Become a Member


Mark Ansermino

Associate Professor
Anesthesia | Faculty of Medicine
Email: anserminos@yahoo.com
Website: CFRI

Horacio Bach

Clinical Assistant Professor
Infectious Diseases
Department of Medicine
Email: horacio.bach@gmail.com
Phone: 604.875.4111 (ext. 63914)

Karen Bartlett

Professor
School of Population & Public Health
Faculty of Medicine
Email: karen.bartlett@ubc.ca
Phone: 604.822.6019
Website: Bridge program

Gary Brayer

Professor
Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Faculty of Medicine
Email: brayer@mail.ubc.ca


Mary Ann Bobinski

Dean and Professor
Faculty of Law
Website: Faculty of Law

William Bowie

Professor
Infectious Diseases
Department of Medicine
Email: william.bowie@ubc.ca

Gregory Dake

Associate Professor
Chemistry | Faculty of Science
Email: gdake@chem.ubc.ca
Phone: 604.822.9121
Website: Chemistry

Cathy Ellis

Senior Instructor
Global Health Midwifery Program
Family Practice | Faculty of Medicine
Email: cathy.ellis@midwifery.ubc.ca


Lindsay Eltis

Professor
Microbiology & Immunology
Faculty of Science
CRC in Microbial Catabolism and Biocatalysis
Email: leltis@ubc.ca

Matthew Farrer

Professor
Medical Genetics | Faculty of Medicine
Email: mfarrer@can.ubc.ca

Rachel Fernandez

Associate Professor
Microbiology & Immunology
Faculty of Science
Email: rachel.fernandez@ubc.ca
Phone: 604.822.6824

B. Brett Finlay

Professor
Microbiology & Immunology and Microbiology & Biochemistry
Faculties of Science and Medicine
Email: bfinlay@msl.ubc.ca
Phone: 604.822.2210

Back to top


Tabassum Firoz

UBC Clinician Investigator
Email: TFiroz2@cw.bc.ca

John Forbes

Clinical Professor, Emeritus
Pediatrics | Faculty of Medicine
Email: jforbes@cw.bc.ca
Phone: 604.875.2210

Timothy Green

Associate Professor
Food Nutrition & Health
Faculty of Land and Food
Email: tim.green@ubc.ca
Phone: 604.822.0421
Website:Land and Food

David Grierson

Professor
Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Email: david.grierson@ubc.ca
Phone: 604.827.3353


Urs Hafeli

Associate Professor
Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Email: urs.hafeli@ubc.ca
Phone: 604.822.7133

Jan Hajek

Clinical Assistant Professor
Infectious Diseases
Department of Medicine
Email: janjhajek@gmail.com
Phone: 778.323.1452

Robert E.W. Hancock

Professor
Microbiology & Immunology
Faculty of Science
CRC Health and Genomics
Phone: 604.822.2682
Website: CMDR

Bonnie Henry

Assistant Professor
School of Population and Public Health
Email: bonnie.henry@bccdc.ca


François Jean

Associate Professor
Microbiology & Immunology
Faculty of Science
Email: fjean@mail.ubc.ca
Phone: 604.822.0256

Wilfred Jefferies

Professor
Microbiology & Immunology | Medical Genetics
Faculties of Science and Medicine
Email: wilf@brc.ubc.ca
Phone: 604.822.6961

Rosemin Kassam

Associate Professor
School of Population and Public Health
Faculty of Medicine
Email: rosemin.kassam@ubc.ca
Phone: 604.822.7181
Website: Population & Public Health 

Christian Kastrup

Assistant Professor
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Faculty of Medicine
Email: ckastrup@msl.ubc.ca
Phone: 604.827.3749


Svetlana Kishchenko

Clinical Assistant Professor
School of Population and Public Health
Faculty of Medicine
Email: svetlana.kishchenko@ubc.ca

Niranjan (Tex) Kissoon

Associate Head and Professor
Critical Care | Pediatrics
Faculty of Medicine
Email: nkissoon@cw.bc.ca

Frank Ko

Professor
Materials Engineering
Faculty of Applied Science
CRC in Advanced Fibrous Materials
Email: frank.ko@ubc.ca
Phone: 604.822.7945

Tobias Kollmann

Associate Professor
Infectious Diseases | Pediatrics
Faculty of Medicine
Email: tkollmann@cw.bc.ca
Phone: 604.875.2466


James Kronstad

Professor
Microbiology & Immunology
Faculty of Science
Email: kronstad@msl.ubc.ca
Phone: 604.822.4732
Website: MSL Kronstad

Fawziah Lalji

Professor
Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Email: Fawziah.marra@bccdc.ca
Website: Pharmaceutical Sciences

Charles Larson

Clinical Professor
Pediatrics | Faculty of Medicine
Email: clarson@cw.bc.ca
Phone: 604.875.2345 (ext. 5642)

Richard Lester

Assistant Professor
Infectious Diseases
Department of Medicine
Email: rlester.id@gmail.com
Phone: 604.707.5604
Website: Medicine


Edwin Levy

Adjunct Professor
W. Maurice Young Centre for Applied Ethics
Email: ed.levy.9@gmail.com
Phone: 604.789.6006
Website: IPPRG

Angela Lo

Clinical Instructor
Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Email: angela.lo@vch.ca

Jennifer Love

Associate Professor
Chemistry | Faculty of Science
Email: jenlove@chem.ubc.ca
Phone: 604.822.3187

Hongshen Ma

Assistant Professor
Mechanical Engineering
Faculty of Applied Science
Email: hongma@mech.ubc.ca
Phone: 604.827.4703

Back to top


Nisha Malhotra

Instructor
School of Economics
Faculty of Arts
Email: nishamalhot@gmail.com
Website: Economics

Lawrence McIntosh

Professor
Chemistry | Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Faculties of Science and Medicine
Email: mcintosh@chem.ubc.ca
Phone: 604.822.3341

Donald G. Moerman

Professor
Zoology | Faculty of Science
Email: moerman@zoology.ubc.ca
Phone: 604.822.3365

Steve Morgan

Associate Professor
School of Population and Public Health
Email: morgan@chspr.ubc.ca
Phone: 604.822.7012
Website: Population & Public Health


Muhammad Morshed

Clinical Professor
Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Faculty of Medicine
Email: muhammad.morshed@bccdc.ca
Phone: 604-707-2622

Michael Murphy

Professor
Microbiology & Immunology
Faculty of Science
Email: michael.murphy@ubc.ca
Phone: 604.822.8022
Website: Microbiology

Gina Ogilvie

Associate Professor
School of Population and Public Health
Faculty of Medicine
CRC in Global Control of HPV-Related Disease and Cancer
Email: gina.ogilvie@bccdc.ca

Christopher Orvig

Professor
Chemistry | Faculty of Science
Email: orvig@chem.ubc.ca
Phone: 604.822.4449
Website: Chemistry


Wingfield Rehmus

Clinical Assistant Professor
Pediatrics | Faculty of Medicine
Email: wingfield@rehmus.com

Graham Reynolds

Assistant Professor
Faculty of Law
Email: reynolds@law.ubc.ca
Website: Law

Jean Francois (Mickey) Rostoker

Clinical Associate Professor
Family Practice| Faculty of Medicine
Email: mrostoker@gmail.com

Laura Sauve

Clinical Assistant Professor
Pediatrics | Faculty of Medicine
Email: lsauve@cw.bc.ca

Back to top


Jerry Spiegel

Professor
School of Population and Public Health
Faculty of Medicine
Email: jerry.spiegel@ubc.ca
Phone: 604.822.1398
Website: Liu Institute

Peter von Dadelszen

Associate Professor
Obstetrics & Gynecology
Faculty of Medicine
Email: pdadelszen@cw.bc.ca
Phone: 604.875.3054

Kishor Wasan

Past Director | NGDI-UBC

Dean Pharmacy and Nutrition

University of Saskatchewan
Email: kishor.wasan@usask.ca

Steve Withers

Professor
Chemistry | Faculty of Science
CRC Chemical Biology
Email: withers@chem.ubc.ca
Phone: 604.822.3402


Vikramaditya G. Yadav

Assistant Professor
Dept. of Chemical & Biological Engineering | Faculty of Applied Science
Email: vikramaditya.yadav@ubc.ca
Phone: 604.827.2706

Annalee Yassi

Professor
School of Population & Public Health
Faculty of Medicine
CRC in Transdiscplinary Health Promotion Research
Email: Annalee.Yassi@ubc.ca
Phone: 604.916.6764


Research Associates and Post-Doctoral Fellows

Janine Copp

Research Associate
Michael Smith Laboratories
Email: janine.copp@msl.ubc.ca

Walter Karlen

Post-Doctoral Fellow | Research Assistant
Faculty of Applied Sciences
Electrical and Computer Engineering in Medicine (CFRI)
Email: walterk@ece.ubc.ca

Emily Marden

Research Associate
Faculty of Law
Email: emily.marden@gmail.com

Nico Marr

Post-doctoral Fellow
Department of Pediatrics
Faculty of Medicine
Email: nmarr@cfri.ca


Matthew Wiens

Post-doctoral Fellow
Division of Infectious Diseases
Faculty of Medicine
Email: mowiens@outlook.com